Sunday Sounds

A winter’s day
In a deep and dark
December,
I am alone,
Gazing from my window to the streets below
On a freshly fallen silent shroud of snow.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

I’ve built walls,
A fortress deep and mighty,
That none may penetrate.
I have no need of friendship, friendship causes pain.
It’s laughter and it’s loving I disdain.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

Don’t talk of love,
But I’ve heard the words before,
It’s sleeping in my memory.
I won’t disturb the slumber of feelings that have died.
If I never loved I never would have cried.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

I have my books
And my poetry to protect me,
I am shielded in my armor,
Hiding in my room, safe within my womb.
I touch no one and no one touches me.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

And a rock feels no pain,
And an island never cries.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sounds”

  1. Hello Ashley,

    I haven’t checked the philosophy blog in a month, but noted that you have pretty good taste in music. Velvet Underground, Patti Smith, Embrace/Fugazi, Simon & Garfunkel. I grew up with all those artists, then moved onto punk and post-punk. I think I saw you with a Cure tshirt the other day. Love them. Are you gonna go see them in May? I have my tix!
    Eduardo

    ps
    where can I get a copy of the philosophy journal?

    1. Hi Eduardo,

      Haha yes music is everything. My interests in music is as broad as the sea. No, I haven’t gotten tickets yet! I probably missed my chance at the affordable seats. haha.

      You can get a copy of the Philosophy Journal in the Philosophy Department Office! They are on the left side of the faculty mail boxes! If you don;t see them, just ask Donna the secretary, she’s awesome. She can help you.

      -Ash

Leave a Reply

